Top 5 Memorable Cricket World Cup Finals in History

3) World Cup 1987 final

World Cup 1987 final - Australia Vs England - Sports Info Now

Who Won the World Cup 1987?

This year’s World cup only known for one reason and that is this world cup was first hosted from the outside UK. 1987 ICC Cricket World Cup was hosted by India.

Who was the Captain of the runner up of the 1987 World Cup?

This world cup final was played in the famous Eden Gardens stadium of Calcutta. After thrashing defending champions in the semi-final, Australia meets giant England in the final.

Which venue has covered most matches in World Cup 1987?

In that final Australia batted first and posted a defendable total of 253 in 50 overs. Their inning of 253 is mostly on the back of two innings of David Boon and Mike Veletta 75 and 45 respectively.

Which is the only team that had defeated Australia in World Cup 1987?

In the run chase, England found them in a winning position with a score of 135/2. At that time English skipper Mike Gatting and Bill Athey at the crease building partnership and threaten Australian bowling attack.

Who is the captain of Australia in the 1987 World Cup?

Things turn around when Aussie’s Skipper Allan Border comes into the attack with his left-arm orthodox spin. Mike wants to attack him like he did to other bowlers and persists. He was demised while playing reverse sweep and edged through the keeper.

1987 World Cup final scorecard & 1987 World Cup Australia team

Then Athey followed his skipper and out soon. Then after Allan Lumb played jam of inning of 45 and Phil Defreitas also played quick cameo but that’s not good enough to win the match and Australia win that final by 7 runs. After this win Australia win this title three more times. But the winner of the 1987 world cup was one of the Top 5 Memorable Cricket World Cup Finals in History because Aussie’s eras begun with this win.

Share via
Copy link