Top 5 Memorable Cricket World Cup Finals in History

ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest international tournaments in all sports entertainment. It played between 8 to 12 teams and once in four years. There are lots of history with this tournament like winners, controversies and many more. So today Sports Info Now comes up with Top 5 Memorable Cricket World Cup Finals in History in the recent 45 years.

Which cricket World Cup was the best?

In recent times, there are lots of shocking things happen in the marquee event like newcomers take bitter on giant cricket sides. For newcomers, this is the perfect stage to show up their ability and class to play cricket and for veterans, this is the time when they impact their last presence in front of their supports and countries.

Which Country has lost the most World Cup finals?

ICC Cricket World Cup was the only stage where teams & cricketers come from all over the world and show their talents. So this is the stage where we can see culture, supports, passions from different countries come together and entertain us.

What is the format for the cricket World Cup?

In 1975, this tournament was played for the first time. West Indies become inaugural champions and then one more time they become champions in 1979. Record s say that from 1992 to 2011, in each final one of the subcontinent teams played in it and won three-time Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India (1992, 1996, and 2011) respectively. This World Cup trophy wins most of the time by Australia (4 times). List of Cricket World Cup Winners.

Let’s come to the point with our list of Top 5 Memorable Cricket World Cup Finals in History.

5) World Cup 2011 final

World Cup 2011 final - India Vs Sri Lanka - Sports Info Now

Who Won in 2011 World Cup?

In the fifth position, we have one of the moments which remember every person in India. After the gap of eight years from 2003 final which played in South Africa led by great Sourav Ganguly India once again stand in final and one foot away from the lift that trophy for the second time in history.

Who bowled the last ball in World Cup 2011?

This time India is the most favorites to win the world cup from start to end of the tournament because they played in their own backyard especially the final. 2nd April 2011 was the day when India played World Cup final against his neighbor Sri Lanka at the famous Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

How did India win the World Cup 2011?

After Win the toss, Lanka decides to bat on a flat wicket of Wankhede. But unfortunately for him, they on backfoot at the start of their inning. Indian leader of Pace attack Zaheer Khan made Lankan’s openers life difficult by delivering three successive maidens in his first 6 overs spell.

How many Runs did MS Dhoni score in ICC World Cup 2011 final?

We can see clearly the pressure of final on Lankans. After the departure of both openers Dilshan and Tharanga in 17th over of the inning then two veterans and pillars of the Lankan batting Jayawardene and Sangakara took over responsibility for the own shoulders.

Who owned Man of the Match award in the 2011 World Cup final?

But Turn thing around in 28th over when Yuvraj Singh dismissed Sangakara for 48 and after that Samaraweera and Kapugedara also fall in quick succession. But Jayawardene holds one end and fight. In the company of all-rounder Thisara Perera and Nuwan Kulasekara, Mahela accelerated inning and achieve own three-figure mark and take team score to 274/6 in 50 overs.

Who was the highest run-getter in World Cup 2011?

In the chase, India starts inning in streaky fashion. Both openers Sehwag and Sachin dismissed by great Lasith Malinga. After their departure, inning repairing work starts with Kohli and Gambhir. They both added 83 runs with their partnership and then Virat was dismissed by Dilshan.

When did India win World cup 2011?

Then Captain Dhoni promoted himself on up the order because the required run rate rapidly goes up. He comes up with the plan to negate the spinner Muralitharan and attack other bowlers. The pair of Gambhir and Dhoni added 109 for 4th wicket and taking team score 223. Then Thisara Perera dismissed Gambhir when he was on 97.

Who won the toss in the 2011 World Cup final?

Then India put the final nail in the coffin with Yuvraj and Dhoni partnership and win the match. At the closing moment of the match, Dhoni hit winning runs when they hit a six on the bowl of Thisara Perera. With this win, India set a record of the highest successful run chase in the history of the World Cup.

Share via
Copy link